It is the responsibility of schools to teach children good behavior in addition to provide formal education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

No one doubts that school learning plays a significant role in people’s life. People who receive better education and behave themselves properly in society are highly appreciated and recognized. Some people argue that schools should be responsible not only for the decent behaviors of children but also for providing academic study. In the following paragraphs I will discuss this statement from my perspective. There is some truth in the above statement. Academic organizations are places where kids are taught useful and valuable knowledge, in the meantime, how to behave properly is also one important part of their duties. However, their main task is to give formal schooling and develop children’s academic capability, because they have the most decent amount of resources to achieve this goal. For instance, professionally trained teachers and libraries with thousand copies of academic reference books enable them to become ideal providers of various knowledge. If they spend too much time on teaching students how to behave in their everyday lives, it will be impossible for it to fulfil the educational function as a whole, to make it worse, their valuable resources will be wasted. Family plays a significant role in people’s lives. That is the very first step in the cultivation of a person’s moral standard and social behavior. Parents are the first teachers of their offspring.The reason is quite obvious that kids spend at least five to six years at home with their parents or caregivers before they go for formal learning in schools. Therefore, parents shall set good examples and teach some social rules and moral criteria in order to get their boys and girls ready for the studying environment. In conclusion, schools shall put more emphasis on imparting academic knowledge instead of teaching kids how to behave properly during their growing into adults.