Not enough students around the world choose to study science subjects at university. what are the reasons for this? what impact does this issue have on society?

Nowadays, students decide to study subjects such as law, literature and economics rather than science subjects. This essay will analyse the are two main reasons why students are not choosing to deepen their knowledge of science and the consequences that this issue has on society. First of all, students do not pick science classes at University, because these are considered to be more complicated and demanding than others, such as art or literature. Furthermore, people tend to consider some career paths more satisfying and fulfilling than others. For example, it is commonly believed that pursuing a career in Law of Finance is more appealing than working as a scientist. The direct consequence of this trend is that there is a lack of professionals in the scientific field. This situation can only get worse because there will be a growing need for scientists in the next years due to climate change challenges. On the other hand, there are too many university graduates that chose to specialise in overpopulated fields and that will hardly find a job. For instance, in Italy we have a surplus of law and economics graduates, while we lack graduates in physics or biology. To conclude, young people all over the world prefer to dedicate themselves to study economics or law, leaving behind science subjects. This is due to the fact that science subjects are argued to be tougher that others and not very promising in terms of career opportunities. However, since not enough students are specialising in science, society lacks professionals in relevant areas, while other professional fields are overpopulated.