Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam". How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

With each year more and more people buy cars so that there are big traffic jams all over the world. With increasing number of cars being owned, a space on the road becomes smaller and smaller. In my opinion, it is undoubtedly true. In this essay, I will prove that this opinion is right and give examples of the probable ways of solving this problem by a government. Firstly, over the last period of thirty years people have accustomed to using cars as a comfortable way of transport. As a result,the selling of this type of transport is constantly rising. Thus, in big cities, there are always traffic jams which could last for hours. For instance, in an enormous city like London, you can hardly go home after work without long traffics. And it is not just about London. New York, Paris, Berlin ect. also suffer from this issue. Thus it is clear that the whole world has come across on this problem. Secondly, governments has to be involved in dealing with this problem and some measurements are needed to be taken. The idea of this problem needs to be introduced to the public though the media and TV. Then, government should give the alternatives to the cars such as bicycles and electronic scooters. These measures surely will give the wanted results of reducing the amount of using this tipe of transport. To sum up, nowadays cars have filled the whole planet and something is definitely has to be done. The encouragements from the side of the governments will be the best way to discourage public from driving by a car. In the future, with the variants which have been proposed in this essay, the situation will definitely change and we won't see anymore a big line of cars which make no moves for hours.