Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days formal education are considered more important than life experience or personal traits by employers. There are many reasons for this and in my opinion, this is a positive development. Education is used to measure a person’s qualification and it makes it easier for employers to choose the right candidates. In other words, companies look for experts who are not required much training at the same time they are productive. For instance, most of the core industries hire students who successfully graduated from college with a formal education who are the subject matter experts. This helps companies to make more innovative products. Secondly, more students would be interested in pursuing higher education and joining universities. This would increase the education literacy rate and also pave way for employment. For example, more students are interested to join engineering colleges as there are more job opportunities that will contribute to the welfare of society. In conclusion, employers prefer people with better qualifications because education proves the candidate is sufficiently trained at the university. I think there are more advantages to the employer as well as students when the company insists more on formal education instead of life experience or personal qualities.