Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Government spend money on different fields to improve economic growth and societal well-being. Even arts are among the many investments that governments make. It is disagreed that governments must invest money in pubic services instead of in arts. Analyzing the significance of boosting the country’s soft power by investing in the arts, as well as the great emotional pleasure that arts may bring to people will prove this. Firstly, arts such as music and theatre represent the soft power of a nation. For instance, it is widely known that countries that hold Olympic event are well known by all over the world because they present unique design and imagination through the participation of numerous artists who make collaborative effort to implement opening and closing ceremony of this event. Therefore, this makes it clear that the money invested in arts will never be wasted. Secondly, governments should not invest solely in public services and spend no money in arts. The reason is that arts bring great benefit to people’s mental ease and will release their anxiety and stress accumulated from long working hours. For example, going to a concert or watching a movie is the best choice on weekend which will definitely cheer up people’s mood. Thus it becomes apparent that government’s money spent in the arts is absolutely worthwhile. To summarize, government should invest in the arts. Therefore, it is clear that the idea of spending money only in public services can not be supported. After thorough analysis on this subject, investment in the arts is always beneficial to the nation, and because of this, money spent will never be wasted.