The Government Should Ban Smoking In All Public Places, Even Though This Would Restrict Some People’s Freedoms.

Everyone has the freedom to make their own decision to smoke or not to smoke. However, most people who do smoke know that it is harmful to their health but due to but due to the craving / the addiction they continue the use. Smoking ban in public places severely restricts a person’s opportunities to smoke. They will start controlling the urge to smoke till they find a place. In the long run, they will be able to control their craving and may reduce their tobacco use. Even though initially most smokers will feel that their freedom is restricted, some may understand the benefit to themselves after a while. The other part of this issue is the hazards of second hand smoking. If smoking continues unabated in public places, the general public will suffer from similar health complications. Studies have shown that passive smokers will also develop respiratory problems, lung cancer and other diseases. This has already become a public health issue which can also affect the unborn baby of a pregnant lady. It is high time we found a solution. To conclude, there are compelling reasons for the government to ban smoking in all public places. If such a ban is implemented with measures to educate the public about it then the smokers too will understand the importance of such ban. Furthermore, if the smokers were also educated about the treatment available to help them to quit smoking, some may even stop smoking completely.