Some people say that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops and public transport. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people suggest that the optimal way to solve the distraction problems in public places is prohibiting mobile phones. In my perspective, this measure is not ineffective because of some reasons. First of all, it makes sense to ban mobile phones. By doing this, it reduces much noise and distraction for us to concentrate on working. However, the talking voice of people is not better. Second, paying all the attention to mobile phones may cause some accidents. Some people are addicted to using phones and will not hear what others say and they hit innocent people. Conversely, it is impossible to ban such an essential item like mobile phones that people use most of their time. Mobile phones carry an important role in studying and working. People will need to use their phones to search for the information for their reports. Furthermore, mobile phones are life saviors in some emergencies. If mobile phones are banned in public areas, there will be no ways to call 911 when someone has a heart-attack. Besides, having no smart phones is tough for a road blind person. They have to use a moral compass instead of Google in phones and this causes many uncomfortable things for them. To sum up, banning mobile phones in public places is impractical due to some reasons mentioned above and I disagree with this meaningless action.