Meat Production requires relatively more lands than crop production. Some people think as land is becoming scare, the world’s meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce world’s meat consumption? What kind of problem such measures caused?

Certain people are of the opinion that producing meat requires a comparatively larger area of land as compared to that of producing vegetables. Since, land availability is becoming scarce, there is a thought that people should follow a vegetarian diet rather than a non-vegetarian. Throughout this essay, I will discuss the measures that can be adopted to reduce the consumption of meat and the conequent issues such measures could lead to. To begin with, meat consumption can be majorly reduced by following an alternative diet plan such as a vegetarian or a vegan diet. For instance, many a people in the world are shifting to a plant based diet due to animal cruelty and nutrition profile. Another measure, could be meat based substitutes, which provide the taste of meat but are vegetarian such as soya bean, jackfruit etc. Moreover, celebrities and members of public institutions, who are idolised by people, can promote vegetarianism, which will help creat an awareness among people about the benefits of a plant based diet and help in process of accepting food derived from crops. However, at the same time limiting the consumption of meat can also have some negative effects. Firstly, certain vitamins such as omega 3, vitamin B etc are majorly available in a meat based diet. Furthermore,the lack of these nutrients can affect the bodies immunity against certain diseases. Secondly, the meat industry is also a major provider of employment to a lot of people and stopping its consumption can have a detrimental effect on the economy of a country. For example as per a survey conducted in the USA atleast 35% of the people in the food industry are working in meat processing or cattle rearing. Another reason, though not that major, could be the limited amount of food choices for vegetarians as compared to non-vegetarians. To conclude, there are certain ways of reducing the worldwide intake of meat but then there are also consequences of adopting such measures.