Some people argue that sending criminals to prison is the best method of dealing with them. However, others believe that education and job training are better way to help them. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different views about how to mitigate the crime rates. While there are some arguments that putting lawbreakers behind the bars is the best way to tackle them, I personally believe that giving them good vocational training and higher education would reduce the problem. There are two main reasons why it could be asserted that locking offenders up in jail is appropriate. The first reason is that the criminals will no longer pose threats to society. Obviously, removing the negative individuals from society will ensure the safety of the citizens, which relieves the stress in the local people about dealing with those criminals again and help them to get a better life condition. Another reason is that placing lawbreakers behind the bars would be a deterrent to the potential offenders. As watching criminals be punished and serve a long sentence in jail, potential offenders might rethink the crime they are going to commit, which also spreads a lesson to society that will deter these criminals from committing another crime. Despite the above arguments, I would assert that education and vocational training should be taken into consideration in order to rehabilitate lawbreakers. It is obvious that the root reason why people end up behind the bars is that they did not have good education or job opportunities. Therefore, if offenders were able to learn a specific skill that is required for a job, they could find a well-paid job to cover up their needs and contribute positively to society. These not only equip the offenders with necessary job skills but also help them have a second chance to have a normal life, as well as reduce the resentment to society. To take Finland as an example, the crime rate in this country never exceeds 0.5%, which is the lowest point in the crime rate. To achieve this success, Finland's government with authorities released a program to help offenders receive a good education and vocational training yet be controlled strictly by `o` In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against methods to deal with lawbreakers, but it seems to me that giving them opportunities to adopt new skills would rehabilitate those criminals.