As the cost of living rises, most people need more than one job to pay the bills. Describe the possible causes of this and suggest how the problem can be dealt with

In recent times, majority of the population requires a secondary income source in order to supplement the surge in the cost of living. Throughout this essay, I will not only discuss the reasons for the rise in living costs but also suggest possible solutions to tackle inflation. To begin with, most people are finding earnings from a single job inadequate to pay for their day-to-day expenses. One of the major reason is escalation in the prices of basic commodities and housing, which is mainly dependent on the economic principles of supply and demand. If the demand for a specific commodity surpasses its supply, then there is bound to be a rise in the cost and consequently the price. For instance, due to overpopulation in urban cities, land is becoming a scarce resource, due to which the value of land has soared, having a direct impact on the housing prices. Another reason to be considered for added pressure on sustenance is increased fuel and power costs. Due to the depletion of coal and oil reserves, the cost of electricity and transportation has shot up significantly than what it was before. One of the solutions is ofcourse to restrict the populaation of a country, though it is quite a herculean task. However, the government can create an awareness about the merits of population control by running various campaigns in colleges and communities. Secondly, the government should invest heavily in local manufacturing, which will not only generate employment for the people but will also ensure that the local demand is adequately met. In order to combat the issue of fuel and power costs, the answer lies in acceptance of alternative energy sources and technology such as renewables and electric vehicles. For example, in Chile most of the electricity is produced from solar and other non-conventional methods with little or practically no dependence on coal or gas. The above stated methods will aid in lowering the living costs. To conclude, excessive demand with respect to supply and reliance on conventional energy providers are the majore reasons for high costs, due to which an individual might have to resort to more than one job to pay his bills. However, with population control, government intervention to give a boost to local production and having mandates for adopting technologies lowering the levelised cost of electricity the living costs can be considerably brought down.