It is often said that when people behave in an anti-social way society in general is to blame. What causes this behaviour? Who is responsible for dealing with it?

Actions that violate societal norms are common in our environments, and are contentious, with social, religious, political and cultural dimensions. This is because society usually blamed for such. This thesis will elucidate reasons for, as well as solutions to, anomalous behaviour. First and foremost, there are numerous causes of deviance such as unemployment, poor parental guidance, failure of established systems, and so on. Unemployment is a menace with negative impacts worse than a pandemic. It results in inability to afford basic human needs like food, clothing and shelter. This will make youths to resort to alternative means of survival such as armed robbery, stealing and theft. For example, it was reported in channels news yesterday that over 63 youths from the Niger Delta region of Nigeria were arrested for pipeline vandalization. When interviewed, they blamed it on government's inability to provide employment. Additionally, parents who, because of busy schedule, fail to provide the needed care, love and attention to their children will eventually cause deviant behaviour. This is because these children will turn to friends, peers and other deviants for attention. With regards to the solution, the authorities, NGOs, schools, churches and other agents of change are responsible for dealing with this problem. Firstly, employment should be made available for youths to enable them cater for basic life's need. This is a major responsibility of the government. Admittedly, national leadership cannot employ everyone, therefore, NGOs, and churches should collaborate to support the government. by providing vocational centres and skill acquisition trainings to fully engage citizens. This will culminate in reduction in the number of people in the streets thereby reducing the incidence of anti-social acts. Additionally, amnesty programs should be organized for repentant deviants to help integrate them back to the society. This may be in the form of trainings either vocationally or academically, provision of job opportunities and rehabilitation. For example, when the federal government of Nigeria offered amnesty to repentant militants in the southern part of the country, peace was restored. In conclusion, deviance is a public health problem for which society is often blamed. Lack of job security, exponential population growth and poverty are some of the reasons for it. Governments and other agents of societal change are responsible for tackling it.