Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about subjects that undergraduate students should study in university. While some argue that mastering practical subjects is more significant for getting a job, I still believe all higher education students should learn whatever they desire. On the one hand, studying useful courses that will be relevant in the future is a worthy investment for pupils. Presently, computer science and information technology have a considerable competitive advantage and acquiring these skills will land an individual a position with a generous salary. For instance, principal software engineers, which is one of the computer science fields, earn a salary of 169,000 Canadian dollars per year. Secondly, beneficial programs will give the ability that helps students to pay off their loans and perhaps even enjoy material existence. Many students take out massive loans to attend university, they may boost their chances of acquiring high-paying jobs by receiving a technology-related degree. For example, tech behemoths like Google and Apple are incredibly popular for this sort of expertise, admission may generate a high standard of living for themselves if they work there. On the other hand, those pursuing subjects that they are passionate about seem to be more likely to be successful in their jobs. The first reason is that students will dedicate more time than their classmates and are more likely to become experts when they are sincerely interested in what they are studying. For instance, two people are going to the same class, but while the second one uses his time to study and investigate because he is enjoying what he chooses, the first one only thinks about parties and travel because he thinks he has chosen the wrong track. The first one is more likely to be successful. Furthermore, you will not blame yourself because you are not on the right track. Tim Judge’s quote: “Money doesn’t buy happiness”. If you study because that occupation will pay well, you will gain lots of money, but you will not be ecstatically happy. In conclusion, while studying disciplines that will be profitable in the future is a good idea financially, I still believe that all undergraduates should follow their passion when selecting a major.