In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many European countries are putting emphasis on developing the practical skills of students from early age with the view that it will assist them to find a job. However, other nations are following the standard teaching methodologies. In this essay, I will discuss why schools should focus on fundamentals first then the practical. Conventional wisdom says that the practical learning gives exposure to deal with the real-time problems which can be helpful to build a strong career at early in life. To illustrate, teaching programming skills to young ones and allowing them to build mobile applications to disrupt the real-life problems will certainly make them rising star of the corporate world. However, practical cannot be done without having proper theoretical knowledge. Hence, teaching them theory first would be more helpful in their learning. Needless to mention, without having strong fundamentals, it will be difficult to grasp the knowledge. Firstly, majority of educational institutes in rest of the world are mainly focusing on making roots strong. Secondly, they believe that the mind of learners develop with the time; thus it should not be overloaded with very complex learning at pre-age. For example, to develop any software, they need to have knowledge of programming languages like C, C++ and PHP which is very difficult to adapt for teenagers. Therefore, institutes should include such type of skills after certain standards when child is completely ready. To conclude, many global territories in Europe prefer to train their students with practical talent after the age of 10 years. They believe that this way they are preparing young adults for an employment. On the contrary, other countries are following the traditional approach. I think schooling system should focus on cultivating the mind of juvenile by providing them sufficient teaching books then only they should move them to the practical.