‘Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this present day and age, almost every parent does not get the respect from their offspring, and this issue has ignited public attention as it badly impacts on society. In this essay, I will seek to examine the complex issue. Admittedly, there are many behind reasons why younger generation do not pay the esteem to parents. First of all, since the turn of the 21st Century, not only father but also mother has to work outside to make both ends meet. As a result of this, there has been little family time which leads to lesser social interaction and emotional attachment between family members. Accordingly, although children become independent and mature enough, they suppose paying respect is not a concern anymore at the same time. In addition to that, successive waves of globalization and the advanced technology is one of the devastating matters. Earlier, parents were their first teachers in life; whatever they want to know anything, they could directly ask our older generation. However, in this contemporary epoch, Google and You Tube take place over parents by all means, and social medias turn out to be their best partners. Ultimately, it has been widely accepted that parents’ advice and suggestions are no longer useful. Consequently, they do not need to obey these words,and they become rebellious. In conclusion, it can be seen that this is the biggest issue that society is undergoing nowadays. In my humble opinion, we can mitigate these problems to a certain extent by analyzing shadow factors.