International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Enormous benefits have been brought by international tourism in many places. However, many people believe that there is an impact, both for the inhabitants and the environment, on the local area that has been visited by international tourists. This essay will examine how the impact will be advantageous, or instead, disadvantaged the community. Firstly, in terms of the local community, number of international visitors will be advantageous for the local businesses, accomodations accommodation, and attractions because of the international exposure. Moreover, most recognizable tourist cities are often shown on social media. This recognition will bring more responsibility for the locals to enhance their nature so there will be more tourists visiting their area. In addition, some countries, like Indonesia usually focusing on city improvement based on the tourist priority, let's say lombok or bali that experienced massive development in recent years. However, international tourism also has its own nightmare. Because of the massive development, most of the green areas were demolished and turned into hotels, theme parks, and others; As a result, local inhabitants and the original environment were slowly disappearing because of the shift in terms of culture and lifestyle. Moreover, native communities will mostly be replaced by the government in the more remote areas which has been done by some countries. To conclude, the impact for the local community will be based on how the locals react or response the demands of the international tourist. Furthermore, the government also needed to take action to protect their people by creating some policies or arrangements.