A government’s role is only to provide defense capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.). All other services (education, health, social security) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the community. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The government has several roles that go beyond just formulating rules or printing money. The question of whether some services such as education, health, and safety should be taken charge of by private groups or by the politics is of fundamental importance. The federal government plays a vital role in safety and infrastructure developments. Those in power have the ability to bring security which can have a huge impact on the residents’ life. A defence capability can evoke a sense of security and transmit a calm and tranquil atmosphere, which is directly linked to locals’ happiness. Additionally, investments in the modernization of the city not just modernize the city, but also create job opportunities since the authority needs a workforce to build roads and facilities. In this scenario, the amount of money invested in urban infrastructures also relates to the citizens’ daily lives. However, private groups and communities can also offer services. Generally speaking, due to the stronger capacity to invest and manage, private enterprises tend to offer a better service whether it is from education, social security or health perspective. In this context, schools and universities administrated by private companies are prone to offer a prime and higher quality of education. Similarly, a private health system presents the exciting opportunity to come up with the newest solutions due to the main reason for being private, which is to make net profits. However, this landscape also has some drawbacks and in this, the case is the higher price that the citizens need to pay to access these services. It seems reasonable to conclude that public and private services are so important and complex that unless both private enterprises and public government unite to address them, the prospects for future generations will be bleak. I hope both parties will grasp the importance of cooperation and combine forces to better the services.