Some people say modern children's games do not develop a wide range of skills, while traditional games can be much better for developing such skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, video games have become an important aspect in the daily lives of people, including young generation. It is said that modern games do not provide skills and knowledge as much as traditional games. However, I find this perspective to be unconvincing, because the diversity of video games offers numerous merits for game players. First of all, the reasons why video games are popular amongst the youth is that it provides a recreational activity to them, and it may help develop friendships and reduce stress. Additionally, as the background of games usually have historical and geographical content, it provides a unique opportunity for children to be exposed to content that is educational. Therefore, gaming can improve children’s memory and comprehension which is practiced whilst playing through the game content, such as puzzles, quests and challenges that require problem solving skills. However, modern games are poorer than traditional games in the aspect of social interaction. Although modern games need teamwork to some extent, such as Honor of Kings which is famous amongst youth adults in China, most of these are internet games which do not involve face-to-face communication. For traditional games, the body language and facial expressions could do regard for the development of youths’ interpersonal ability. To sum up, even though there are a number of benefits from traditional gaming, they do not outweigh the cons of the modern one. Because the design and imagination of video games are constantly being updated and advanced which is better for fostering skills than the traditional games.