Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary epoch, whilst proponents believe that ancient happenings are more significant than other topics, opponents and I are convinced that practical and scientific fields are more quintessential. Thus, this essay will be demonstrating the underlying factors of this contention as well as my intuition. On the one hand, studying stories and past events of our ancestors is unquestionably pivotal because it gives the current generations an idea about what has happened before. To illustrate, when archaeologists and anthro study different monuments, artefacts and scriptures, they inform modern populations about their ancient civilizations, and they give them the chance to learn from them. An eminent example of this is Greek's indigenous cultural and philosophical studies that have revealed the fundamentals of democracy, which, in turn, have paved the road to the modern political systems. Hence, it can be said that decoding the past does not only make people understand their previous timelines but also makes them benefit from them. On the other hand, due to the increasing dependence on innovation for the modern economy, Physics, Mathematics and Biology have become must-learn subjects in order to guarantee a thriving job in the future. In other words, if undergraduates want to make sure they will not end up jobless after graduation, they specialize in one of these majors in their college, which is highly demanded by multinational companies and institutions. As a matter of fact, according to an article that has been published recently by The Times magazine, STEM students have a higher chance of working in jobs that are directly related to their specialization than otherwise. Therefore, it can be observed that applicable science fields are more useful than humanitarian ones. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the abovementioned points, it can be reiterated that despite the importance of historical studies in unpuzzling the past, theoretical and practical studies can be more impactful, especially when it comes to the future of the youth, and I am, personally, a staunch believer of that.