Memorization of information through repetition (rote learning) is an important part of most educational systems. Do the advantages of this method outweigh any limitations?

In the most of educational systems, memorizing information with rote learning is valued. Although this approach has several limitations, there are more advantages concerning the long-lasting memory and technique of it. Admittedly, one possible limitation of memorization by rote learning is that some people cannot memorize same contents repetitively due to a rack of patience. When people learn foreign language’s vocabulary by heart, for instance, the most part of them would be forgotten after a short time. Therefore, some people might feel that spending time for memorizing is waste of time. Nevertheless, the first reason why repetitively memorizing information is crucial is that this method enable learners to strengthen the memory through repetitions. Although the most part of the memory is forgotten at first, people can reduce them, as they repeat the rote learning. This is because, from brain science perspective, forgetting is a natural feature of human species, and human brains regard what they touch many times as important information. Another is that people can brush up on their skills to memorize by using rote learning, because they can understand the process of memorization, resulting in acquisition of effective way of it. As a matter of fact, there might be some differences of advancement of the skills, but people can improve them through repetitions, like sports. In conclusion, while memorization of information with repetitions has some limitations according to personalities, this methodology can bring more advantages. By doing so, people may reinforce the memory, and enhance their knowhow to memorize more efficiently.