Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

History is a necessary subject in most primary and high schools. While some others think that it is important to know about what happened in the old days, some others argue that it belongs to the past, and it is Science that defines the future. From my point of view, I think that it is important to learn, and most essential to learn from our past. First of all, I do believe that we have every reason to think that science and technology matter more than plain historical events. Scientific studies and technological innovations are the main reasons that we could move on from the history to present and achieve the progress and abundance we have nowadays. History is the story made by individuals and groups in the past, whereas development in science and technology is what we must rely on in order to make stories of our own. For instance, by learning from the past you could not learn anything about how to construct a building, how to produce electricity more effectively, or how to grow more food from the soil. These are the things that are essential to our daily life. Unfortunately, a massive historical knowledge would not contribute anything to the development of these kinds of stuff. Nevertheless, I think is it still necessary to learn history. Our life span is short compared to the long river of history. Things that one can learn during a lifetime are always limited. Hence, it is meaningful to learn from the experience of our ancestors. In my opinion, the study of History is basically a collection of people's experiences in the past. What we can learn from the outdated events and people may still apply to some aspects of our modern society and is worth reflecting on, for example, I think the history of the third empire of Germany and Adolf Hitler should always be taught and remembered. It is a lesson that humans had paid a significant price for, and should not be easily forgotten. By knowing this history and its miserable consequences we are able to notice such events earlier and have a greater chance to prevent them from happening again in time. In conclusion, I do agree that modern technology and knowledge are more important than history with respect to creating a better future. However, it is also important to keep our history in mind in order to avoid similar mistakes that have happened before.