Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that educational institutions should give scholars the opportunity to select issues. Others think that universities should simply provide lessons relevant to career prospects. In my opinion, the former idea is wiser than the latter one. On the one hand, young people forced to study job-related curricula such as science and technology have some advantages for their future careers. Firstly, they are more likely to find a decent job because of current social demands for science and technology. Many well-paid positions in the job market require candidates to have an educational background in those relevant fields. Secondly, they easily get higher positions and earn more than others. Their professional knowledge and skills can propel companies in the directions employers desire. On the other hand, the learners choosing subjects as their wishes may acquire better scores. The issues are always selected by students’ interests, which means that students should be willing to spend much time on repetitively boring practices for the knowledge and techniques related to their hobbies. For example, young people who take the initiative to major in Art have the motivation to paint the same pictures to improve their skills. As a result, the flexibility encourages graduates to achieve higher results. In my view, while the idea of students only studying job-related subjects has its upside, I still believe that giving them the freedom to select subjects is more advantageous. The students who are educated in such lessons compulsorily lack motivation for acquiring their academic knowledge. Therefore, it will be an obstacle to their career prospects.