Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Those budgets that governments destined to music, theatre or art usually are seen as a waste of money and therefore citizens think that they should be invested in public services. Despite that, I am in total disagreement to that extent due to the following reasons that I will explain in this essay. Firstly, we all know that museums, art galleries, and theatres play an important role in the country's culture. Moreover, when tourists visit them there is an incrementally amount of earnings that go directly to the government. On the other hand, we should consider that, through these kinds of entertainments, the country and its culture, are represented overseas. For example, Spain is well known around the world for its cinema thanks to Javier Bardem and Pedro Almodovar. Secondly, if we ask around, a recent survey reveals that people believe in culture as the best way to achieve education, hence education is the pillar of advanced societies. Therefore, investing in culture is the best way to have a successful future. For instance, there are countries such as the United Kingdom which are famous not only for their iconic buildings or museums but also for their universities. Moreover, the United Kingdom is the perfect model to illustrate this question. To sum up, I am totally convinced that budgets which are destined to improve culture are necessary in order to have a glorious society. In addition, public services, such as the health system, public transport, education and social services, compound the country's DNA.