Some people believe that employees should stay in the same job for the rest of their lives. Others think they should switch jobs at least once during their career. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Some individuals feel that employees should remain in the same position for the rest of their lives, while others believe that they should move occupations at least once during their careers. In this answer, I will discuss rationales behind these two views before showing why I favor the later. On one side of the argument are those who think it's the right thing to stay loyal to the current company. Firstly, the important thing for us to get credibility at work is the experience that only can earn through long-term commitment with the company. When they gain enough experience and expertise needed to do their job, it becomes manageable with little effort. Moreover, seniority always goes hand in hand with the opportunity to become a leader. For example, leading others and mentoring new employees through the transition of their jobs are always seniors’ responsibilities, thank for it, they have more say in the organization and become a leader sooner or later. However, I side with those who encourage for employees to change occupations at least once throughout their employment. This is because performing repetitive duties in a job makes individuals feel bored and uninterested. For example, a drop in performance is one of the repercussions of losing desire to work, which can result in an employee being undervalued or even terminated by their manager. As a result, changing jobs is a viable option that provides individuals with more opportunity to push their limitations and earn new relevant experiences. Thus, they will have an understanding of their interest and will be able to develop themselves. Especially when employees are underpaid or have reached a career plateau, they should seek a new position that would result in improved compensation. In conclusion, while being loyal to the firm is always welcome, but it is not by any stretch the optimal way to develop one's career. Instead, transfer jobs as needed to build experience and then commit to sticking to a certain company for the remainder of your life after having enough accomplishment and obtaining the desired position.