The subjects that children are taught in schools are decided by central authorities. Some people say that teachers, not politicians, should be responsible for this task. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the modern days, parents increasingly care about the quality of education their children receive. There is an undeniable fact that in many countries, the education content is decided by the authorities. However, many are inclined to believe that teachers, not politicians, should be the ones designing the school syllabus, because the tutors understand what is best for their students. I am at variance to a large extent, as I believe politicians should still make final arrangements, as there needs to be a standardized agenda of what to be taught in all schools to ensure a consistent quality in education. Critics of the modern education system argue that teachers should have the rights to decide what to teach their pupils as they understand their students the most, hence are able to tailor the curriculum to fit the students ’ personalities and circumstances. Based on the general interests and needs of the class, teachers can choose to focus on certain areas of studies to make the lessons more relevant and interesting. For example, if the students are more interested in Mathematics and Science, teachers can incorporate more advanced exercises and other Mathematics and Science knowledge outside of the textbook to satisfy the students ’ curiosity. On the other hand, if the more enthusiasm is shown in Social Sciences, teachers can perform more in-depth analysis of well-written literature pieces, or even conduct a field trip to museums to learn more about History outside classroom. Teaching pupils of various interests the same curriculum, they would not have time to dive deep into the areas of studies that they are really passionate about. While critics have reasons to support their claim, I still believe politicians should be the final decision makers because teachers need to cover basic knowledge across all subjects for a more holistic development of their students before guiding them to research more about their favourite fields. School children of all backgrounds should be capable of carrying out basic calculations, achieving certain degree of literature comprehension, and having a basic knowledge of Natural and Social Sciences for future daily-life applications. More importantly, a lot of modern-life problems need to be solved based on multidisciplinary principles, requiring people to have both Science and Humanities expertise. Therefore, these basic principles need to be standardized across all schools by the parliament. In conclusion, although teachers directly carry out the curriculum in class, the authority should still be responsible for designing the standardized education curriculum for all schools. To avoid developing a watered-down curriculum that may not be as relevant to students, politicians can take advices from teachers and encourage subject tutors to develop more advanced programmes for gifted students who are eager to learn more.