Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution, and airport constuction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that government should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree?

Over recent years there has been an enormous increase in air traffic around the world,due to cheap tickets which have resulted in air pollution, construction of airports and increased noise levels. Some people believe that, if government start imposing high tariffs it could reduce air traffic significantly. I am a strong opponent of this practice as this will impact tourism and make travel less affordable for the public. Firstly, one of the biggest problems with this approach is that it will inadvertently impact the tourism industry. In other words, due to high fares, people will stop travelling by aeroplane to holiday destinations, which will affect the airline company's revenues. They might prefer to travel by cheaper means of transportation rather than expensive flight tickets. For example, Virgin Airlines, a recent report shows a steep decline in company revenues due to an increase in taxes for flights to exotic destinations. Secondly, imposing such high taxes makes it less affordable for a large number of the public. Especially for families that might not be able to purchase such high price tickets. Moreover, it will significantly impact the low socio-economic families who cannot afford these high airfares. For example, in The Sunday Times, a recent report shows that there was a 60% decrease in the flights to Gold Coast and Tasmania due to expensive airfares. To conclude, the government's strategy to reduce air traffic by raising taxes will not make much of an effect on reducing air pollution and noise levels. This approach is not worth considering because it will decrease the air company's revenues and will make it less affordable to tourists and the general public travelling to holiday destinations.