Employees sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many organizations ask job applicants for relevant information related to work experiences and educational attainment. Sometimes, they ask more personal questions like hobbies and interests. Some people feel that it is irrelevant and should not be asked. However, others feel otherwise. An integral part of an interview is to determine the capabilities of an individual that are appropriate for the job offered. Others feel that education and past work experiences are sufficient to gauge their fitness for the work. For example, data gathered from an employee stating that he was a graduate from an Ivy-league university and has extensive job-related experience is adequate enough to be hired. Furthermore, irrelevant and personal information could pose security issues if hackers get a hold of these data. In addition, an individual might not feel at ease at work because topics that she considered sensitive were divulged. On the other hand, some individuals feel that other personal information about a person is also necessary to determine personality and attitude towards work. For instance, a person who likes to play volleyball might mean that he is a team player and thus, will work great along with other workmates. Similarly, a man with multiple divorces could indicate that he cannot stay in one place and might keep switching jobs. As a result, the long term repercussions of hiring the employee are evident. Still, I believe that there should be a limit to how much personal information can be asked to prevent any security problems and other unforeseen issues. To conclude, although education and work experiences are necessary for job interviews, I agree that to some extent, it is also imperative that some personal data can be obtained only to determine appropriateness and dedication to work.