Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are those who claim that when visiting another country, foreigners ought to show respect to locals by acting according to their rules and customs, while the opposing stance is that the host country has the role to embrace the different cultures of visitors. The purpose of this essay is to discuss both sides of this argument and then I will give my own perspective on the matter. On one side of the argument, there are those who believe that tourists should follow the local customs and behaviour. People have this opinion because it is a way to demonstrate respect to the natives when being in their country. A second point is that, restricting yourself to the local customs guarantees a more realistic experience on a journey. Taking me as an example, I visited India a couple of years ago for a friend's wedding. Although my friend was very flexible regarding the issue, I opt to wear traditional clothes rather than using any of my pieces from Brazil. In spite of these considerations, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It has been argued that countries should be receptive to the differences in cultures in order to attract more tourists. This is because when individuals see themselves in another country that also respects their cultures, they tend to travel more there as they feel welcome. In addition, such an action is a way to show a country's values, aiming to promote this behaviour around the world. A good illustration of this is many democratical agreements between nations that allow people to visit the other country without having to ask for a visa. In conclusion, I believe that both sides have their merits. On balance, however, it is my opinion that the visitor is the one that should be responsible to follow the local conduct. This is my firm belief because people will be able to have a better experience on their trip, as well as present some respect to the locals.