Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Over the past fifteen years or so, many university students have faced a difficult problem with how choosing their majors in university. Some education experts believe that university students should learn no matter what they want while some students ' parents think that these students should study the subjects related to science and technology. This essay will discuss both viewpoints in the below paragraphs and give my own perspective on why I think that university students should choose whatever they like in their universities. On the one hand, it is generally accepted that university students should study their majors which they love. That is, these majors such as Arts or Philosophy may not have instant effects on students to make huge money or apply for lucrative patents to contribute to their society directly. However, Arts or Philosophy can affect the university students to develop or cultivate their critical thinking and humanitarian minds which are still important to the society because the society needs these university students who can use these spirits to design some social welfare systems to benefit their citizens and society. On the other hand, it can be claimed that some university students ' parents assume that their sons or daughters should major in the subjects which relate to science and technology as their priority choices. That is to say, these subjects such as Information Technology and Communication Engineering can assist university students to find better future jobs or occupations with higher salaries than those students who major in social science courses such as Economics and Statistics. The above statement seems to be practical, but it ignores that university students come from various countries and cultures which means that academic diversity and freedom are still significant in university. In conclusion, it can be asserted that university students should choose what they want to study at university because they can have more humanitarian minds and perspectives to help their society become better and better.