In some cities, the government has tried to reduce traffic by adopting measures such as congestion tax during rush hours. Is this a positive or negative development?

Traffic is one of the most common issues in many countries, permanent complaints and complications have pushed governments to generate changes that impact people's finances. Taxes during peak hours is one of those modifications that in my opinion only have a negative development on families’ economy. This essay will explain the reason why it is considered a negative solution. Although adding more costs to travel during the busiest hours could be created with the best government intentions, for those who do not have the privilege to decide the time to travel because of their jobs it just means a new outcome. For example, a great number of employees, especially from the middle class must follow the companies’ rules and travel always during the rush hours because of their schedule, and it is unmodifiable. Thus, they will continue travelling through the city at the same time but now will also have to assign a part of their salary to cover new taxes and reduce their budget for other essential needs. In addition, for the high class, those taxes do not mean much so they will remain using their vehicles and just paying as much as it is established but in this case with less economic affectation because it does not mean much for them. For this reason, even with taxes we will continue suffering the traffic problems because the same number of people will be on the roads just with more or less preoccupation on their heads according to their financial status. To conclude, at the end of the day this measure does not guarantee any change for the main problem, oppositely, develops additional issues for most of the population affecting the economy of the workers and their families and increasing the economic gap between rich and poor communities.