In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

A surveillance security system was developed to reduce crime, proven effective in some regions. Although, some would argue that this measure prohibits public freedom. This essay will discuss the advantageous existence of installed video cameras and their detrimental effects on society. I also ought to discuss my perspective and explain why I stand on its overall beneficial purpose. When people notice cameras in the area, they tend to be cautious because they know that they are being watched, but how about hidden cameras? There are circumstances when camera operators become prejudiced against people by race, skin colour, and religion. They tend to be fixated on people wearing Muslim attire and those called black people. In other cases, watchers who control the camera are allegedly threatening people who have a potential risk of being punished for a misdemeanour. These circumstances usually happen to operators who are prejudiced and unprofessional. Despite the aforementioned drawbacks, I acknowledge the purposeful function of surveillance technology and that it outweighs its negative consequences. If operators are professionally trained, they can deliver their utmost service to ensure that a nation is safe. Their most significant intent is to prevent terrorism, and they carefully study the behaviour and condition of a place before forming a conclusion. There is no stereotyping and only investigation. Other essential things are reducing criminality and preventing suicide attempts. Saving lives and lessening illegal activities are vital aims that innovation can guarantee for the human race. In conclusion, while people are uneasy when cameras are around, camera operators are also sometimes prejudiced. Nevertheless, public safety is by far a paramount priority.