The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a well-known fact that technology has changed the living standard of people all around the world. Advancements in technology have not only made our lives easier but it also saved many lives. I completely agreed with the fact that the crime rate has decreased due to this. firstly, As digitalization brings a drastic change, we can see its effect on the reduction of the crime rate during this period. for example, People become more aware of the installation of CCTV cameras which makes it easy to catch thieves and mobile phones where people can capture photos and videos and share them with the police within a couple of seconds. Also, all the data is now recorded online which makes it easy for police officers to extract data from the past records instantly. Secondly, As there are lots of advantages to reducing crime but technology is not only helpful for civilians or police, thieves nowadays also know to use technology for robberies, such as hacking bank accounts and stealing money through the internet or online purchasing by hacking credit cards. In conclusion, we can say that the crime rate is definitely decreased but it also helped robbers to steal valuables with the help of technology.