Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A group of people presents the view that students should be free to choose their major when they apply to university, whereas the other group of people believes that students should study only specific majors which are beneficial. In my opinion, students should have the right to choose whatever they want to study. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that everyone should have the right to education in a major that is interested in it. If a person studies in his favourite concentration, he will have achieved more success by the end of his education. Therefore, he can be an expert or influencer in his field of study and perhaps more beneficial for his people. From a psychological standpoint, when people do something with their heart they will be effective people. In addition, this group correctly argues that in a developed and modern society all the aspects of the human mind and soul must improve together and at the same time. Hence, city dwellers will be healthier in all aspects mentally, physically, and intelligence. People need both services and help from technology and science and the impact of art and music, etc. which are provided by education in different majors. For example, On the other hand, another group of people claims that society needs only some important majors in fields of science, technology or health because these are the subjects which people always need and they are helpful. These people think that other majors have no essential role in human life because they cannot see their direct impact, and claim that only science or technology majors are useful and practical and others are futile to study. For instance, they say that pottery is an impractical major and why students want to choose it. Without pottery, people can live but without science and health, technology does not. However, I do not find this argument convincing. Since countries develop in one way and are more technological, the human soul and emotion will be forgotten and individuals will turn into creatures without senses. In conclusion, in my point of view, government and educational authorities should provide all the majors for students to have a wide variety to select. Moreover, students must be free to choose their concentration for higher education.