Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It has become, a common culture these days that employers ask prospective candidates for their personal information. While a group of people accept this, others don't. In this essay, I am going to discuss both sides and provide my opinion. In this digital era, Employers have been increasingly wanting to know more about the interview candidates, hence in the job application form, they tend to collect personal details such as marital status, favourite pastimes and interests. On one hand, this data collection sometimes favours the employers. Firstly, the employers can figure out if the candidate would fit in the team culture, else the new hire could potentially feel left out. Next, this helps employers to understand if they could get achieve business goals. For example, for a sales position, someone with a soccer-playing hobby would show that the person is sociable and would be able to fit in the position. Lastly, it helps the employer to plan health care and child care etc., On the other hand, the data collection at times impacts both the prospective hire and as well the employer. To begin with, this activity could lead to preconceived notions and may impact the hiring decision. For example, for an actuarial position in an insurance company, the employer could foresee that someone with bungy jumping as interest could be risky. Moreover, this could burden the employer to comply with data collection and privacy laws, which is not needed at the candidate selection stage. As such to conclude, selecting a candidate to hire should be based on skills, experience and attitude and not based on personal interests, these details could be collected post candidate selection and offer roll-out phase.