In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

It is argued that some people nowadays are more dedicated and hardworking than others in their work or studies. Although a positive work ethic is beneficial up to a point, overly hard work can be unhelpful and even harmful to one's health. There are several factors why people become so conscientious. One of the most popular reasons for people to work harder is to achieve their professional or academic goals. On the other hand, trying to work harder than others, will enable them to be recognized for the fruits of their labor by people around them. There are also a few negative factors, such as family pressure, which drives them to work or study harder to satisfy that expectation. Workplace competition also motivates people to work harder than their peers in order to avoid being fired. Nevertheless, working or studying too hard has its drawbacks. People who sit at a desk for more than 8 hours a day are more likely to develop mental diseases, such as job stress symptoms. As a result, they would become increasingly consumed with their career and careless of their friends and family, and it would take years for them to heal. Furthermore, students who focus too much on their studies may experience stress, sadness, and even self-murder. In fact, Japan has not only the world's most hardworking students, but also the world's highest suicide rate due to high academic pressure. In conclusion, hard work is admired, but overworking can have negative consequences and affect people's health.