Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The governments are said to should expend more money on railways rather than roads. I totally agree with this statement owing to some compelling reasons, which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, increased investment in the railway infrastructure would ease traffic congestion. That is, if the railway system is upgraded, city dwellers will show a less tendency to use private vehicles. In other words, not only does it encourage people to adopt use public transports, but also alleviates road traffic taking place. Take a country, which has an efficient system of railways, as an example; the more the number of train-users increases, the more traffic congestion is likely to reduce efficiently. This, in turn, will change the appearance of cities beyond recognition and limit the risk of accidents caused by traffic jams and road vehicles. Another rational justification is that what is positively affected by the use of the railway system is the environment. Since the majority of trains have nature-friendly engines, fossil fuel consumption is more likely to be reduced, which can ultimately prevent aggravating air pollution. If people had used fewer private cars due to access to an efficient railway system, we would not have witnessed the air pollution. Furthermore, the high speed of the trains might trigger cut down lowers the amount of time spent on commuting. Hence, people can allot this time to their personal life or leisure activities in which they are interested in. In conclusion, because the railway system is friendly-environmentally and improving the infrastructure and efficiency of railways systems can bring about low traffic volume, I do believe that railways should be invested in more than roads by the government authorities.