Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general?

These days, most people tend to spend their free time on self-development rather than to unwind. This megatrend shows a large discrepancy between old and young generations. Specifically, it has been a golden rule to have life-long hobbies for many years, however, this is not true any longer. I believe that in order to survive in such a fast-moving society, we are required to learn as much knowledge as we can. In this rapidly changing era, we have to be proficient in a multitude of fields. When it comes to college students, requirements for employment are much more complex than before. According to an article, HR staffs nowadays explore a candidate's social network skills by checking their homepages without any notice. This is because most sales are from the Internet intermediaries, such as Instagram or Facebook, in the digital economy. In other words, university students should learn not only marketing skills but also social networking strategies and English for the purpose of showing their communication skills with the Internet users. This transformation made university students not to pursue activities as a pastime. Generally, it has impacted critically on individuals and society in terms of chasing life-long education. People have discarded their spare time to relax and dedicated their efforts on studying substantial skills. Several years ago, there was a survey on working age population, with some questionnaires about what they did on free time. Interestingly, over 50% people answered that they attended in a graduate school or participated in an online education programme. In perspective of society, a lot of institutions are now offering special curriculums. For example, many universities are supplying 8-week programmes for those who are eager to study in international relations, business management and so on. In conclusion, while time for relaxation is shrinking, at the same time, developing themselves is a new trend for those who want to grasp a better chance. It may be positive for our society because it will enhance economical productivity as a whole. Meanwhile, a lot of people will have no choice but to sacrifice their hobbies to dream their bright future.