Some people think that government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects to make progress. Do you agree or disagree?

As researchers from various scientific fields solve today’s most urgent problems through innovations, governments are encouraged to provide more capital in scientific education than other specialties to advance. This essay agrees with that idea because our world is increasingly shaped by mathematical subjects and technology, and thus the need for future innovative scientists will increase. Besides that, exact science develops young learners’ abilities to ask critical and technical questions, and at the same time, develops their organisational and research skills. The advent of modern technology such as artificial intelligence and the internet has simplified complex tasks. To ensure enough professionals working in these fields in future, the government must invest more funds in developing Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics curriculum at schools. In the status quo, many schools do not provide scientific disciplines that are enjoyable for children, and therefore many learners lose interest in learning it. The government should use the fund to upgrade teachers’ pedagogic skills because excellent teachers can foster natural curiosity and love for scientific subjects in students early. For instance, the Indonesian government has raised the budget for developing a national school curriculum that focuses on developing learners’ numeracy and problem-solving skills. Teaching more scientific studies subjects at school can help learners solve problems by drawing connections between theoretical and practical tasks. This will also challenge them to find and utilise empirical shreds of evidence, and in this process, their cognitive thinking will also develop. Besides those, many researchers have reported that studying exact subjects also develops children’s positive traits such as perseverance, resilience, and patience. For example, Japan designed its national curriculum to focus on STEM subjects which have resulted in pupils achieving exceptional academic performances at school, not to mention that they are also well known for having excellent manners. In conclusion, the government must prioritize upgrading exact education nationally to ensure there is enough talents to face future challenges. Moreover, learning STEM subjects more frequently can develop children’s cognitive skills and positive character.