Some people say it is manufactures and supermarkets responsibility to reduce the amount of packaing of products they sell and others say it us consumers responsibility to avoid buying products with too much of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although people are not supposed to “judge a book by its cover”, in my opinion, it is inevitable that the appearance of something will influence what people desire. Hence, packaging of a product becomes one of the most essential aspects to boost a product’s popularity. However, using excessive packaging may lead to the waste of materials used. Thus, I believe it is necessary to be reduced. In order to do so, I believe both manufacturers and buyers play an important role on this. Supermarkets and factories produce items with excessive packaging to increase their products’ sales. When people are going to buy something, it is natural for them to look for items that are attractive or pleasing to the eyes. However, if all manufacturers or factories agreed to reduce their amount of packaging or standardise their packaging, people would have no choice and comparison. As a result, the packaging will not matter as much. Besides, reducing the amount of packaging will benefit the manufacturers since they need to spend less money to buy the packaging materials. I think this is a win-win solution and should not be difficult to apply. Other than the manufacturers, consumers’ shopping habit also needs to be changed. Even though it is their right to choose what to buy, I believe consumers should at least have awareness about the packaging of the product and how it becomes a waste of materials. If consumers prefer to buy products with less amount of packaging, then the manufacturers would be encouraged to produce items with less packaging to catch the consumers’ attention. In conclusion, I believe both consumers and manufacturers have their own roles in reducing the packaging of the products. Therefore, it is not the responsibility of either the consumer or manufacturer only.