Many governments have laws that ban the sale and use of hard drugs like heroin and cocaine, yet they allow people to freely buy other more socially acceptable drugs like tobacco and alcohol. Laws that prohibit the sale and consumption of ‘hard’ drugs should be applied to other more widely tolerated drugs such as tobacco and alcohol. What is your opinion?

Drugs with severe negative effects and the ones that are causing addictions, like heroin and cocaine, have been banned and strict punishments are applied to people who are trafficing or using them; however, the ones that cause milder dependency, like tobbaco and alcohol, are being used without any prohibition. It is argued that the same law should be passed for them. I am completely in agreement with this view. First of all, all recreational drugs can cause damage to human health and these soft ones are not excluded. A good example of it is the lung cancer, which results in many deaths in smokers. Besides that, many people are suffering from alcohol induced liver diseases, which leads to liver transplantations. Thus, although they have been viewed as soft drugs, their consequences are pretty serious. Added to this is the mental aspect which is being affected by the dependency and the tolerance of these drugs. For example, ones usually start with smoke a cigarette a day and end in a packet per day. Therefore, due to mental and physical addiction and their side effects, imposing a law against these substances is in people best interest. Moreover, victims of drugs are not only drug users but also their close contacts. The reason for those people being suffered is the impact that humans can have on eachother. For instance, if a family member has alcohol use disorder and comes back home drunk everynight, other members will be annoyed by this behaviour, especially if they are children. To exemplify further, passive smokers are at a great risk of lung cancers even if they are not smokers. Consequently, because people are affecting eachother, giving permission to some to use these substances is ignoring other people's right. To sum up, applying the same detterent as hard drugs to milder ones is vital to keep people safe. I am convinced that the disadvantages they have brought for both users and non-users are important enough to prohibit them.