Some people think that university students should study whatever they like. Other believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that higher education learners should have the freedom to choose their favourite subjects, while others say that only practical studies including computers, chemistry and biology should be provided to students. While the students ' choices on career paths should be respected, I believe that teaching them courses that markets need will contribute to the development of our societies On one hand, students should be encouraged to pick their own career paths. One reason is that only they can understand their inner motivations and needs, thus they are able to choose the most relevant ways for themself. For example, Bill Gates stopped school to learn only about computers, and he created Windows which is the most used operating system at the present. However, I do not believe this is an optimal decision that can benefit young learners because,at this stage of life, they might be lacking real-life experience, so there are risks of failure. On the other hand, families and societies should guide these people toward practical learning paths. Following on-demain careers such as molecular biology, cybernetics, or computer science helps students to be job-ready after graduation so that they can become breadwinners of their families as well as be able to grow in these professional domains. For instance, a software engineer is the hottest job in the South East Asia market at this time, and a graduate can easily land a job in many start-up companies. Therefore, I totally support the point because the success of a person is the combination of various factors including career, financial state, family, and well-being, thus choosing a proper job will create a strong foundation for success. In conclusion, although it is important for learners to be able to decide on their studying subjects, teachers and parents should encourage them to follow science education, because this allows students to get good jobs to support their life and family.