Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

There is no doubt that work can sometimes be stressful. In recent years, more and more people are choosing to be self-employed over working in establishments and corporations. In this essay I will be discussing the reasons behind this and the possible drawbacks for self-employment. The main reason behind the acceleration in the rates of self-employment is the need to gain control over worklife work-life. Since neumores workers tend to have problems with either their bosses or work hours, they avoid those problems by opting to work for themselves. A survey done proved so, as 78% of the respondents choose “being the own boss” as the number one reason for self-employment, while flexibility came second by 70%. Having to answer to no one but yourself has proven to be a motive for many to start their own business. Despite the several advantages of self-employment, It still has its own drawbacks. A key disadvantage would be the unstable income. While it can be less stressful at times than a regular 5 to 9 job, The pay insecurity can cause some anxiety. For instance, suppose you have established yourself as a well-respected, self-employed wedding photographer. Your income will be totally reliant on the number of clients you are able to line up at the fees you have set for your services. You may do very well in the spring season, when weddings tend to proliferate, but may face a lengthy dry patch in the winter months, when fewer people tie the knot. In conclusion, many tend to favour self-employment over organisational traditional occupations because of the flexible hours and the absence of a boss. We still have to be aware of the sit backs as the irregular paycheck.