Today family members do not eat meals together. Why does this happen? Is this a positive or negative development Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Having dinner together has been gradually less common in recent years. In my perspective, I think this trend has a detrimental impact on family members, especially children. This essay will outline some reasons why this takes place with examples. On the one hand, the obstacles to family dinner are pretty much the same over time, but there are two main reasons for that. Firstly, the burden of earning for living, especially in low-income families, parents have to work extra jobs to cover the cost of their lives. For example, my friend's family have not had meals together for the month because their parents do not come home before 20 o'clock every day. Moreover, nowadays, there are many distracting things such as the internet and social media which could lead family members to not want to eat at the same time. On the other hand, the lack of mealtime could have negative impacts on teenagers. Children do not have time to interact with their siblings and their caregivers, which could lead them to become more selfish and stressed. In terms of nutrition, there's lower fat and sugar and salt in home-cooked meals even if you don't try that hard, there's more fruit, fibre, vegetables, and protein in home-cooked meals, and lower calories. For instance, kids who grow up having family dinners, when they're on their own tend to eat more healthily and have lower rates of obesity. In conclusion, mealtime is a time that plays an important role in each family. Although there are many things that could interrupt this, I think people need to find ways to pass these obstacles to have meals with each family individual.