Establishing good relationships in the workplace is not important, as the primary goal of every person is to focus on work. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The importance of maintaining professional relationships in the workplace is becoming increasingly popular in recent past years and has gained much more scholarly attention. Although the topic is debatable, as some people believe that keeping healthy relationships with colleagues is one of the major norms of working in an organization, others argue that work is more important than maintaining a relationship. In my,opinion the latter proposition has several strong elements that deserve attention. There are several legitimate concerns these days regarding the employee's productivity at work. For example, the recent research on the periods of the work culture has shown that most of the time employees spend on gossip and communication over the phone and intranet which has adversely affected the work quality and has also resulted in a high percentage of errors and accidents. Moreover, work is not a place to socialize so maintaining the right balance between the work and relationships can be a fruitful deal for both employees as well as organizations. Moreover, a number of benefits can be attributed to when people try to prioritize work over other things. A major responsibility of an employee is to be 100% productive at work, which not only helps in being efficient at work but can also help in completing the work within time, thus it helps in time management which is a key element of success. Additionally, it also gives a sense of satisfaction as being loyal at work is what we get paid for, which can also be a motivating and inspiring factor for others working in the same place. To conclude, I strongly believe that the main aim of employees should be to work compared to maintain good relationships because of the reasons outlined above.