Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, this trend has increased to keep seniors at the old-age facilities because many families find it challenging to take care of their old members due to their busy lives. Although in nursing homes, they get the best treatment, they lose their proximity to their families. In my opinion, nursing homes provide better services to relatives who are left alone. However, if individuals can guard them at home only then it is the best for elders. The foremost benefit of putting seniors in care facilities is that they receive the best available treatment there. To illustrate, the nurses in these centres are trained to look after senior citizens, especially in case of emergency. Moreover, due to busy schedules, families are not able to look after them. As an illustration, individuals live in another city owing to employment and education opportunities, and they are left alone at home to take care of themselves. Hence, it is best to send them to elderly homes where they will stay with same-age people. The prominent drawback of this trend is that old relatives lose their proximity to their loved ones. Therefore, they become depressed. Most of the time, these shelters are located at a distance. As a result, it takes longer for family members to visit their elders which creates a feeling of loneliness among them. Besides, seniors have to follow a proper schedule at nursing shelters, and they feel a lack of freedom. For example, according to a survey, it has been revealed that they often miss their places because to organise even a small event, they need to take permission from authorities. In conclusion, it is common nowadays to keep old folks in nursing facilities. Even though they provide the best possible treatment to elders, they often miss their houses. Furthermore, they create the feeling of loneliness and lack of freedom among them. Despite the advantages, the old-aged centres facilitate, it is better to consult the older members before moving them there.