Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all time even on holidays . Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages

In this day and age, there are often concerns about maintainting a healthy balance between one’s work and personal life. However, it is a well established practice among some employers to keep in touch with their employees even during holidays in orders to deal with the numerous work related problems to survive in the competitive business world. In this essay I will look at the advantages of having on call duties arranged and the disadvantages associated with being contacted by employers all the time. On one hand, there are some organizations, where requesting staff members to take part in duties even they are on leave will be more advantageous to their clients. Take health sector as an example. In order to enhance public health, all the professionals including physicians and paramedics needs to work harder around the clock, no matter what. In spite of the fact that they are being paid extra for the valuable service, it is more about the job satisfaction in the long term. Another benefit of having on call shifts is in turns of technical breakdowns. In other words most of employers have ready-made strategies to overcome unexpected issues associated with machinery, so that they will not lose profit. For instance, in many textile garments, staff are allocated to act out immediately in case of any breakdown, because they need to be as competitive as their counterparts to be consistent in business. On the other hand, if we consider the drawbacks of this development, it will be difficult for employees to switch off during holidays, because the call of duty is always in back of their minds. As a result, many staff members tend to have a poor work life balance and more likely to develop stress related illness, such as heart problems and mental disorders. In addition to that, some employees may cherish their personal relationships over a job they find toxic and may quit jobs. In conclusion, this concept brings more advantages than disadvantages when employees are concerned. Therefore employers needs to follow a well-balanced approach while implementing rules and regulations on indicating on call duties.