Many people make friends through social sites and chat rooms . Others believe that it is not a good idea to make friends without meeting them face to face. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, with the advancements in technology and the internet, social networking is becoming increasingly popular, especially among young people and has gained much more scholarly attention. Although, making connections using social sites or messengers does more harm than good or vice-versa is a debatable topic. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and put forward several reasons why social networking sites have several concerning elements that need attention. The debate surrounding the topic is most charged in today's world. There is an army of people convinced that networking sites like Facebook, Instagram and skype are effective means of communication and socializing. They have come up with several arguments, first and foremost, online is a vast platform to find friends with common interests. For example, Instagram enables people to check and follow each other's pages, to keep themselves updated about each other activities and interests. Secondly, chat rooms are an effective way of communicating in distance relationships. For example, people who are interested in knowing the different cultures and communities can make friends from different countries, where chat windows play an important medium for sharing thoughts and ideas. However, some protest that making friends online without meeting them personally can be dangerous. For example, on Facebook and Instagram people make fake accounts to do fraudulent activities like stealing personal information and misusing pictures for sexual activities. Moreover, It is also difficult to trust people without personally meeting them. For example, networking sites have no restrictions about keeping the correct information, which encourages people to filter also because the young people are getting more and more influenced and obsessed by the lifestyle of film stars and celebrities. To conclude, I believe both sides have some benefits and concerns but in my opinion, the latter proposition has several favourable elements as mentioned above.