In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic is a problem that many countries are facing these days. Therefore, in order to tackle these problems, many experts recommend that governments should charge high taxes to their citizens and utilise the same money for improving public transit. Although this solution would immensely improve the public transit system which would result in better air quality, it would be a burden on the public and businesses. Personally, I think that government should educate their citizens about the positives of public transportation. The foremost benefit of the above recommendation is that it will highly improve public transport which would lead to clean air because more people are more likely to use it in view of its economically. To illustrate, according to a survey, it was revealed that the public use railways and buses owing to their budget-friendliness. Furthermore, given the fact that the cost of transportation would be in the weekly budget of individuals, they would save more as they would not have to spend it on medical bills related to respiratory problems. Consequently, it would facilitate to uplift poverty. On the contrary, it will not only burden people who have to travel due to bad public transit in their regions but also employers to compensate their employees because of the rise of taxes on private cars. Additionally, it will also affect the automobile industry as there would be fewer sales of vehicles. As a result, employment opportunities will be negatively affected. For example, in 2019, in India, the sales of cars declined because people preferred to travel by metros instead of their own cars and the government had to reduce the tax on personal automobiles to increase the demand. In conclusion, to solve the traffic problem it is advised to heavily charge taxes from citizens and use the collected money for building better public transport. Even though it would result in better transport services and clean air, it would create a burden on individuals and employers because their budget will be adversely impacted by high fees levied by governments. Besides, it will also have detrimental effects on the automobile industry. Having said that, the state should encourage their individuals to prefer public transportation by creating awareness.