Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors in major sports competition such as Olympic Games and football World Cup etc. It is better to spend money encouraging children take up sports at a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government spending is always at a focal point of discussion. Especially, as encouraging competitors costs a huge amount of money, some people think that this is not subbestable. I totally agree with the statement that government should spend funds to motivate children to play sports at a young age. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay. Firstly, the government's income should be equally divided throughout the society. For instance, in Japan, 60% of the national budget comes from taxes, e.g. value-added tax and corporate tax. If the government spent enormous funds on only a few sports players who are eligible for major games, such as Olympic Games, it's not in line with an equality among the citizens which should be guaranteed by countries. On the contrary, if that money will spend on young people's sports activities, more people can benefit from the alternative spending policy. With that being said, from the viewpoint of citizens' equal rights, motivating young people would be more suitable than just investing in sophisticated sports players. Secondly, if countries put an emphasis on young children's physical education, it should strengthen citizens' physical health. Take my case for example. When I was a primary school student, the school got a grant from the government, with which students can participate in after school volleyball classes for free. As one of my friends who are absolutely good at volleyball, she decided to pursue her career as an international player, and now she is playing as a professional volleyball player. Since spending money on young children allows them to give a chance to find their hidden talent, it should end up supporting national sports. Consequently, taking care of sports activities for young people who live in the country is a better option. To summarize, government funds should be spent on national children's sports activities, this is because the government budget should be distributed to the people who have national citizenship of the country as much as possible and because providing young children supports national sports competitiveness overall. Therefore, it is clear that the idea of granting for children to play sports can be preferable to granting for competitors in major sports events. After a thorough analysis on this subject, it is predicted that the positive effects of the debate over the cost of young people's physical education opportunities will always be greater than the negative effects, and because of this, I completely agree that government should prioritise children over professional players, when it comes for them to submit the budget.