Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Keeping a balance among the subjects being taught in a school curriculum is difficult to say the least. While some people are promoting the idea that history is critical for student to learn, others consider science and technology far more important. I am convinced that although knowing history brings some advantages to students, focusing on sceince and technology is far more vital for pupils to survive in modern world. Those who advocate learning history have valid points. They usually take the example of well-known historical events like world wars which resulted in years of impoverishment, hunger, and the calamity of hundreds deaths due to distribution of diseases and believe familiarising the younger generation with them can prevent upcoming wars. This is because by increasing their level of awarness of consequences of such events, the next generation will not repeat the mistakes their ancestors made. Added to this is the personal aspect of learning history which helps individuals realize their back grounds. This directly contributes to them understanding the rationales behind their cultural beliefs. For example, knowing about the history behind celebrations like thanksgiving leads to offspring respecting that night and hold it in future. This means that cultures can prevail and be kept safe. Despite the above, technology and science have always viewed as passports to improve. The modern computerized world privileges society members who are familiar with the most recent updates. The reason for it is the influence of technology in all aspects of human life. For instance, ones can not find decent jobs unless by knowing how to apply for them using technologies like job search engines. This is an ability that the old generation lacks and by preparing the next generation for it, current students will not encounter difficulties current elderlies are dealing with. In addition, the subjects of science and technology are keys to open universities' doors. A good example of it is Harvard University that gives interviews base on scores of these topics. Therefore, for children to be enrolled in reputed universities and have a garanteed future, people believe that schools should emphesize emphasis on science and technology. To sum up, it is noteworthy to bear in mind that different subjects that are being taught can bring benefits to students. However, I believe that the human dependency on technology and the role science and technology play in having further education make these two topics far more important.