These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this era of rapid development of society, it is undeniable that the quantity of people who tend to go overseas is continuously increasing. Some of them are having their jobs lined up while others want to take their time to recommence their study journey. However, there are some benefits and drawbacks to this problem so this essay will analyze the trend from several perspectives and give evidence on this specific issue. First of all, migrating abroad may bring many good opportunities. It is clear that there is an apparent environment for newcomers to improve their linguistics skills. This is because these people will have the ability to communicate with the locals easily as well as immerse themselves in the new culture. Furthermore, it is irrefutable that living abroad is a way to broaden their horizon. In fact, people can gain valuable experience and that will help them to make an impression on recruiters when they are applying for jobs. Although living far from home is a life-changing experience, it has the other side of the coin as well. Firstly, being apart from relatives may result in homesickness. It is natural to feel sad about not being able to sleep in your own bed and eat home-cooked food surrounded by your family. Consequently, a sudden change in the environment you live in will cause some mental disorders. Moreover, culture shock may happen to some people who have just moved far from their country. Undoubtedly, many people find it hard to cope with the language barrier, the food, and general cultural differences. This could be exemplified by the fact that if you do not eat hot food, you may find it hard to live in Korea which is famous for its spicy cuisine. In conclusion, there are several merits and demerits of living, working, or studying abroad. Therefore, preparation is highly recommended as it is believed to be quite challenging when you start a new life from scratch.